Skip to content

Bondye beni nou

July 23, 2012

Image

Hey everybody!

We can’t believe that our trip is almost over.  In only two more days, we’ll be on an airplane heading back to the states…provided we make it through all the chaos which is the Port au Prince airport.  We’ve had such an incredible experience here.  We all can’t wait to come back to share with you all the amazing ways we have seen God at work here.  Sorry this kind of post wasn’t up earlier, like we said before, we didn’t have wifi at the hotel we were staying at, so we thought that its better late than never to give a little shout out to all our loved ones.

Connor – I can’t believe that the trip is coming to a close.  These past two weeks have been eye opening and life changing.  I’ve seen God work in so many different ways and it has been so great seeing a completely different culture believing in the same, very real God we believe in.  One of my greatest memories here will definitely be when we visited Gotye Village.  After taking a trail through some woods we found ourselves right in the middle of a remote village where we passed out hygiene kits complete with soap, shampoo, tooth brushes, tooth paste, and a few other things.  As we made our way through the village we slowly built up a posse of Haitian children who followed us around and kept petting Kaylee’s hair.  Once we passed out all the kits, the village treated us with coconuts and sugar canes that they grew locally.  It was an experience I’ll never forget, it was amazing to actually walk through and meet people in the village.  I’d never seen anything like it.  I can’t wait to get home to tell you all about the other stories I have.  Love you all and miss you so much!

Danae – I’m loving it here in Haiti! I have met so many people here, so it will be really hard to leave them, but I am looking forward to sharing all of my stories with you all! Be ready to see my 600+ photos when I get back! :) My favorite things we have done here so far have been handing out sandwiches to the people at church, and hygiene kits to a nearby village. It’s amazing to see how joyful these people are, yet they have nothing. I also really enjoy learning the language, Creole. Everyone here is really patient with us while we learn the language and they all love to teach us! What will I not miss? Working in 100 degree weather, finding a cockroach in our bathroom, and being proposed to multiple times at the work site.

P.S. Mom: let’s not have rice and beans for dinner for a while, please…we have it here just about every night!

Brinlee – It is hard to believe this trip is coming to an end! It is the third mission trip I have been on but it is definitely the hardest mentally and physically. One of the hardest things about this trip is the language barrier. The little kids especially don’t understand that us Americans don’t speak a lick of Creole. I was coloring with some girls and they were telling me to color things for them. I eventually figured out what they were asking of me. kay- house, flower- fle, sun-sole, moon- la lun. Then a kid threw out a new one and asked me to draw a “bekann.” It sounded like they were saying bacon so not knowing what the heck that was in Creole, I just drew a piece of bacon. The two kids looked at each other and I have never seen two people look more confused in my life. I later found out bekann means bicycle.

Kaylee – A blog post can not begin to explain the things we have experienced or have seen here. These last two weeks have been incredible. We’ve been staying busy working on the school site, playing with kids at various villages and having a lot of team bonding. One of my favorite memories this far was the morning we drove to a remote village to hand out hygiene kits. We would walk up to the villager’s huts and welcome them with “bonswa” (good afternoon), “mwen kontan we ou” (I’m happy to see you), and “mwen yon bagay pou fanmi ou” (I have something for your family). I completely butchered the last sentence, but the woman I was speaking to just smiled back, said “mesi” (thank you), and kindly took the kit. As you can tell, Haitians are some of the kindest people I’ve ever met. This is just one of the many experiences I will never forget. Haiti has been amazing and I’m having the time of my life here.

Isaac – This whole trip has been a huge blessing and an incredible experience! The moment that sticks with me the most was on the 18th, when Konekte (the other group we were working with) started their soccer tournament composed of Haitian teams. My group and I were playing with the kids of the village and were just having fun while we watched the incredible soccer games. I started walking and playing with other kids and I saw a small child that I knew from our visits to other villages. I ran over to him and tapped him on the shoulder. He was probably no more than 1 1/2 years old. When he turned around his face lit up with a huge smile and he ran into my arms. I picked him up and held him close to me. After a while of walking and watching the soccer games the child fell asleep in my arms. This moment i wish would never end, cause this child will always be in my heart and I will always think of this child, not because i was able to put him to sleep or because he was extremely adorable (he was though!), but because I looked at this child and wondered if he would have the same opportunities as me and if he would be able to have as much of a chance to have a great education as I have had. Thinking about these questions made me feel so many emotions and it humbled me. I often take for granted my education  while people here in Haiti would kill for that education. This trip has been so incredible! God has blessed me so much!!
Quote of the Day: “Wave to the white person!”

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Wow, it sounds like you all are having an incredible trip. Danae, I am looking forward to see ALL 600 or more photos that you took and I can’t wait to hear the stories. But most of all, I just want to see you again and I hope you have a safe trip back through the Port-au-Prince Airport!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

